Aldila Sutjiadi and Miyu Kato were disqualified from their doubles match at Roland-Garros after the latter struck a ball to the opposite end of the court between points and accidentally hit a ball girl, leaving her in tears. The initial call from the chair was a warning before Marie Bouzkova and Sara Sorribes Tormo, Sutjiadi and Kato’s opponent, highlighted to the umpire that the ball girl was clearly distressed. The supervisor was then called to the court and the decision was made to disqualify the pair.
You can watch the French Open on Eurosport and discovery+
More Stories
Brydon Carse set to miss England’s crucial Champions Trophy tie against Afghanistan
Neymar responds to jeering fans by scoring for Santos directly from corner
Can Notre Dame’s Olivia Miles go from injury to the WNBA’s No 1 draft pick?